Book Clubs

We currently run 9 Book Clubs which all meet at the shop. For adults, Book Chat meets on a Wednesday evening and Book & a Beer on a Thursday evening. Cosy Crime meets on a Tuesday afternoon and Cosy Elevenses on a Tuesday morning.

For children and young people we run book clubs for Year 3/4, Year 5/6, Teen (Year 7/8), YA (Year 9-11) and a Crossover book club for those in Year 12+

You can see what each book club is currently reading below. For further information on any of the book clubs, please call in at the shop, send us an email or give us a call.

Book Chat Book Club

16th October 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: A Treachery of Spies by Manda Scott

Book Chat book club

Synopsis: A body has been found. The elderly victim’s identity has been cleverly obscured but one thing is clear: she has been killed in the manner of traitors to the Resistance in World War Two. To find answers in the present, police inspector Ines Picaut must...

Children Year 3/4 Book Club

9th October 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Legend of Kevin: A Roly Poly Adventure by Philip Reeve & Sarah McIntyre

Year 3/4 book club

Synopsis: Max is a young boy living in an ordinary tower block. He longs for adventure in his life – then one day – DOOF! – a flying pony called Kevin crashes into his flat, blown in by a magical storm! The storm causes a huge flood and soon...

Young Adult Book Club

8th October 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: Jelly - Clare Rees

Young Adult book club

Synopsis: Life has its ups and downs, doesn’t it? And Martha and her friends are really sick of going up, and down, and up, and down. After a traumatic event that no one can talk about or even quite remember, they’re stuck on a giant killer jellyfish,...

Cosy Crime Book Club

1st October 2019, 2.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Bitter Orange - Claire Fuller

Cosy Crime book club

Synopsis: From the attic of a dilapidated English country house, she sees them – Cara first: dark and beautiful, clinging to a marble fountain of Cupid, and Peter, an Apollo. It is 1969 and they are spending the summer in the rooms below hers while Frances...

Cosy Elevenses

1st October 2019, 11.00am at Booka

Currently reading: Bitter Orange - Claire Fuller

Cosy Elevenses

Synopsis: From the attic of a dilapidated English country house, she sees them – Cara first: dark and beautiful, clinging to a marble fountain of Cupid, and Peter, an Apollo. It is 1969 and they are spending the summer in the rooms below hers while Frances...

Book & a Beer Book Club

19th September 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Riverflow by Alison Layland

Book & Beer book club

Synopsis: Deep water. Dark secrets. Dangerous neighbours. No longer the benign friend of summer, the Severn was a restless dragon slithering its way past After a beloved family member is drowned in a devastating flood, Bede and Elin Sherwell want nothing more than to...

Children Year 5/6 Book Club

18th September 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: Swimming Against the Storm by Jess Butterworth

Year 5/6 book club

Synopsis: An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John. Our land is sinking. It’s disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to...

Teen Book Club

17th September 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: Check Mates by Stewart Foster

Teen book club

Synopsis: Some people think that I’m a problem child, that I’m lazy and never pay attention in lessons. But the thing is, I’m not a problem child at all. I’m just a child with a problem. Felix is struggling at school. His ADHD makes it hard for...

Crossover Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Surface Breaks by Louise O'Neill

Crossover book club

Synopsis: 30 years after Disney’s The Little Mermaid movie was released, it’s time for a feminist reimagining for a new generation. “A masterpiece” Marian Keyes “A fierce torrent of a book, raging and forceful and gripping. I was swept...

Books & Buggies Book Club

16th August 2019, 11.00am at Booka

Currently reading: Peck Peck Peck by Lucy Cousins

Booka & Buggies

Discover, share and enjoy great books for babies and toddlers at our new Books & Buggies Book Club. Each session includes a story-time with a featured book plus the showcasing of a variety of other books for parents/carers to share and enjoy with their young...