THE BURNING

Laura Bates

ISBN: 9781471170201

£7.99

In stock

SKU: 9781471170201 Category:

Description

‘The Burning lights a fire in you – one that makes you want to fight for change and ignite sparks in others so the fire spreads and spreads.’ – HOLLY BOURNE A rumour is like a fire. You might think you’ve extinguished it but one creeping, red tendril, one single wisp of smoke is enough to let it leap back into life again. Especially if someone is watching, waiting to fan the flames … New school. Tick. New town. Tick. New surname. Tick. Social media profiles? Erased. There’s nothing to trace Anna back to her old life. Nothing to link her to the ‘incident’. At least that’s what she thinks … until the whispers start up again. As time begins to run out on her secrets, Anna finds herself irresistibly drawn to the tale of Maggie, a local girl accused of witchcraft centuries earlier. A girl whose story has terrifying parallels to Anna’s own… The compelling YA debut from Laura Bates, founder of the Everyday Sexism Project and bestselling author of Girl Up. PRAISE FOR THE BURNING: ‘This is a book teen girls NEED to read’ – Holly Bourne ‘Bold, brutal & hugely important’ – Abi Elphinstone ‘Defiant and inspiring’ – Katherine Webber ‘Brilliant’ – Stylist ‘Essential reading for fans of Holly Bourne and Louise O’Neill’ – The Observer PRAISE FOR GIRL UP: ‘A bracing love letter to today’s teenage girls’ – Sunday Times ‘Essential reading for young women and girls’ – Morning Star Online ‘This no-nonsense guide to being a girl in 2016 is one all teen girls should read’ – Red magazine ‘If you have a daughter or a niece or a younger sister or a goddaughter, buy it for them now’ –The Pool PRAISE FOR EVERYDAY SEXISM: ‘This is an important book’ -Independent ‘A potent reminder of how far feminism has come and how far it has to go’ – Kirkus Reviews ‘A game-changing book, a must-read for every woman’ -Cosmopolitan ‘Funny and clever’ – Telegraph

Further Information

Format Paperback
Publisher Simon & Schuster Ltd
Published 21/02/2019
Shipping We aim to ensure the books in your order reach you in perfect condition. All our books are supplied wrapped in bubble-wrap and shipped in a book box.
Pre-Orders We aim to dispatch all pre-order titles on or around the date of publication. Sometimes, due to circumstances beyond our control, there might be a delay. Should this be the case, we will contact you to let you know.

If your order contains a combination of in stock and pre-order, not yet published titles, we will usually hold the order and dispatch when all titles are in stock. If you would like us to release parts of your order sooner, please contact us to arrange an additional postage and packaging payment.