Supremes Sing The Happy Heartache Blues

Edward Kelsey Moore

ISBN: 9781473661998

£8.99

In stock

SKU: 9781473661998 Category:

Description

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul. When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne and Miss Beatrice Jordan, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, returns to Plainview, Indiana, to perform in a place he’d sworn–and for good reason–he’d never set foot in again. But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. Among those in this tightly knit community are the lifelong friends, known locally as “The Supremes”, each facing a challenge of their own — Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand. Now, serenaded by El Walker’s bittersweet and unforgettable blues song, this group need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live. ‘A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature’ Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Further Information

Format Paperback
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton General Div
Published 08/03/2018
Shipping We aim to ensure the books in your order reach you in perfect condition. All our books are supplied wrapped in bubble-wrap and shipped in a book box.