Book Clubs

We run two adult Book Clubs which meet every 6 weeks. Our Booka Book Club meets on a Wednesday night and our Book and a Beer Book Club on a Thursday night (7.30pm). Both groups meet at the Shop and are free to attend. New members are always welcome. So, step outside your comfort zone and come along to explore new authors and genres – we’d love to see you. Book Club members receive 10% discount off the price of each Book Club read.

We also run two Children’s Book Clubs (Year 3/4) and (Year 5/6), a Teen Book Club (Year 7/8) and a YA Book Club (Year 9+).

For local Book Groups we offer a 10% discount when 5 or more copies of the same book are purchased.

Book & a Beer Book Club

28th June 2018, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Horseman by Tim Pears

Book & Beer book club

Synopsis: 1911. In a forgotten valley on the Devon-Somerset border, the seasons unfold, marked only by the rituals of the farming calendar. Twelve-year old Leopold Sercombe skips school to help his father, a carter. Skinny and pale, Leo dreams of a job on the...

Book Chat Book Club

20th June 2018, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo

Book Chat book club

Synopsis: There are things even love can’t do …If the burden is too much and stays too long, even love bends, cracks, comes close to breaking and sometimes does break. But even when it’s in a thousand pieces around your feet, that doesn’t mean...

Teen Book Club

12th June 2018, 4.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Brightstorm: A Sky-Ship Adventure by Vashti Hardy

Teen book club

Synopsis: Twins Arthur and Maudie receive word in Lontown that their famous explorer father died in a failed attempt to reach South Polaris. Not only that, but he has been accused of trying to steal fuel from his competitors before he died! The twins don’t...

Children Year 3/4 Book Club

6th June 2018, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Chocolate Factory Ghost - The Dundoodle Mysteries by David O'Connell

Year 3/4 book club

Synopsis: Archie McBudge knows his lucky underpants must really work, because when he and his mum are summoned to Honeystone Hall in the remote Scottish village of Dundoodle, they find Archie has inherited not only the enormous hall, but the whole of the world-famous...

Children Year 5/6 Book Club

5th June 2018, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: Max and the Millions by Ross Montgomery

Year 5/6 book club

Synopsis: Max is used to spending time alone – it’s difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you’re deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life… like making awesome, detailed replica models. Then Mr...

Cosy Crime Book Club

5th June 2018, 2.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan

Cosy Crime book club

Synopsis: Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more...

Young Adult Book Club

8th May 2018, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Young Adult book club

Synopsis: Magic can burn, turn tides, light the darkness and bring back the dead. But magic is gone. So one girl must bring it back in the first in a gripping fantasy trilogy. They killed my mother. They took our magic. They tried to bury us. Now we rise. Zelie...