Book Clubs

We currently run 9 Book Clubs which all meet at the shop. For adults, Book Chat meets on a Wednesday evening and Book & a Beer on a Thursday evening. Cosy Crime meets on a Tuesday afternoon and Cosy Elevenses on a Tuesday morning.

For children and young people we run book clubs for Year 3/4, Year 5/6, Teen (Year 7/8), YA (Year 9-11) and a Crossover book club for those in Year 12+

You can see what each book club is currently reading below. For further information on any of the book clubs, please call in at the shop, send us an email or give us a call.

Young Adult Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods by Emily Barr

Young Adult book club

Synopsis: Arty has always lived in the Clearing, a commune hidden in the forests of south India. But her happy life, separate from the rest of the world, is shattered after a terrible event. For the first time, Arty must leave her home, and head into the intriguing...

Children Year 3/4 Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: We Won an Island by Charlotte Lo

Year 3/4 book club

Synopsis: When Luna’s family win an island, Luna thinks it will solve everything AND she can finally get a donkey! But things don’t go entirely to plan – no one expects Luna’s younger brother to win a Sheep Pageant, for example – and the...

Children Year 5/6 Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: Swimming Against the Storm by Jess Butterworth

Year 5/6 book club

Synopsis: An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John. Our land is sinking. It’s disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to...

Teen Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: Check Mates by Stewart Foster

Teen book club

Synopsis: Some people think that I’m a problem child, that I’m lazy and never pay attention in lessons. But the thing is, I’m not a problem child at all. I’m just a child with a problem. Felix is struggling at school. His ADHD makes it hard for...

Crossover Book Club

1st September 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Surface Breaks by Louise O'Neill

Crossover book club

Synopsis: 30 years after Disney’s The Little Mermaid movie was released, it’s time for a feminist reimagining for a new generation. “A masterpiece” Marian Keyes “A fierce torrent of a book, raging and forceful and gripping. I was swept...

Book & a Beer Book Club

29th August 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Riverflow by Alison Layland

Book & Beer book club

Synopsis: Deep water. Dark secrets. Dangerous neighbours. No longer the benign friend of summer, the Severn was a restless dragon slithering its way past After a beloved family member is drowned in a devastating flood, Bede and Elin Sherwell want nothing more than to...

Book Chat Book Club

25th July 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Lido by Libby Page

Book Chat book club

Synopsis: An uplifting novel about the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how ordinary people can protect the things they love. ‘The book’s themes of community, protest and activism are urgent ones in Brexit Britain.’ – The Guardian Meet Rosemary,...

Cosy Crime Book Club

16th July 2019, 2.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Gallows Court by Martin Edwards

Cosy Crime book club

Synopsis: LONDON, 1930. Sooty, sulphurous, and malign: no woman should be out on a night like this. A spate of violent deaths – the details too foul to print – has horrified the capital and the smog-bound streets are deserted. But Rachel Savernake is no...

Cosy Elevenses

16th July 2019, 11.00am at Booka

Currently reading: The Muse by Jessie Burton

Cosy Elevenses

Synopsis: Not all of us receive the ends that we deserve. Many moments that change a life’s course – a conversation with a stranger on a ship for example – are pure luck. And yet no one writes you a letter, or chooses you as their confessor, without good reason. This...

Books & Buggies Book Club

14th June 2019, 11.00am at Booka

Currently reading: Peck Peck Peck by Lucy Cousins

Booka & Buggies

Discover, share and enjoy great books for babies and toddlers at our new Books & Buggies Book Club. Each session includes a story-time with a featured book plus the showcasing of a variety of other books for parents/carers to share and enjoy with their young...