Book Clubs

We currently run 9 Book Clubs which all meet at the shop. For adults, Book Chat meets on a Wednesday evening and Book & a Beer on a Thursday evening. Cosy Crime meets on a Tuesday afternoon and Cosy Elevenses on a Tuesday morning.

For children and young people we run book clubs for Year 3/4, Year 5/6, Teen (Year 7/8), YA (Year 9-11) and a Crossover book club for those in Year 12+

You can see what each book club is currently reading below. For further information on any of the book clubs, please call in at the shop, send us an email or give us a call.

Book & a Beer Book Club

31st January 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Gardener from Ochakov by Andrey Kurkov

Book & Beer book club

Synopsis: Igor is confident his old Soviet policeman’s uniform will be the best costume at the party. But he hasn’t gone far before he realises something is wrong. The streets are unusually dark and empty, and the only person to emerge from the shadows...

Book Chat Book Club

23rd January 2019, 7.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Renni Eddo-Lodge

Book Chat book club

Synopsis: I’m no longer engaging with white people on the topic of race. Not all white people, just the vast majority who refuse to accept the legitimacy of structural racism and its symptoms… You can see their eyes shut down and harden. It’s like...

Young Adult Book Club

22nd January 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero

Young Adult book club

Synopsis: A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in...

Children Year 3/4 Book Club

16th January 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: There's a Yeti in the Playground by Pamela Butchart

Year 3/4 book club

Synopsis: Izzy and friends are excited! The snow is falling fast and they’re hoping they’ll all be sent home early. But then they hear weird noises in the playground, and find a big footprint in the snow… And that’s when they know!...

Teen Book Club

15th January 2019, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: Frostfire by Jamie Smith

Teen book club

Synopsis: Chosen for the honour of bonding with a frostsliver – a fragment of the sentient glacier that crests her icy home – Sabira embarks on the dangerous pilgrimage to the top of the mountain. But when a huge avalanche traps her on the glacier and...

Children Year 5/6 Book Club

9th January 2019, 4.15pm at Booka

Currently reading: The Snow Angel by Lauren St John

Year 5/6 book club

Synopsis: Lauren St John’s stunning Christmas classic is about forgotten children, the power of nature to heal us and a girl who will climb mountains in search for a place to call home. Nominated for the 2019 Carnegie Medal. Growing up in vibrant, crowded...

Cosy Crime Book Club

8th January 2019, 2.30pm at Booka

Currently reading: Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson

Cosy Crime book club

Synopsis: Josephine Tey is in Cambridge, a town gripped by fear and suspicion as a serial rapist stalks the streets, and in the shadow of King’s College Chapel, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces some of the most horrific and audacious murders of his...

Cosy Elevenses

8th January 2019, 11.00am at Booka

Currently reading: Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson

Cosy Elevenses

Synopsis: Josephine Tey is in Cambridge, a town gripped by fear and suspicion as a serial rapist stalks the streets, and in the shadow of King’s College Chapel, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces some of the most horrific and audacious murders of his...

Crossover Book Club

27th November 2018, 4.45pm at Booka

Currently reading: La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One by Philip Pullman

Crossover book club

Synopsis: Think what is at stake. The right we have to speak and think freely… all that would be destroyed. That is worth fighting for, don’t you agree? Set in the world so masterfully established by Philip Pullman in his trilogy His Dark Materials, La Belle Sauvage...